我们的服务项目:

海关交涉

我们代表客户与美国海关进行各种沟通,以保证进出口方面的充分合作。

我们还处理与海关事务相关的联邦食品药品管理局(FDA)、联邦消费品安全委员会(CPSC)、美国农业部(USDA)、联邦贸易委员会(FTC)、国际贸易委员会(ITC)、联邦财政部外国资产控制办公室(OFAC)、美国贸易代表办公室(USTR)、联邦商务部(DOC)和联邦交通部(DOT)、 联邦海事委员会(FMC)、联邦航空管理局(FAA)、联邦环境保护署(EPA)和联邦烟酒火器管制局(ATF)事务等。

例如当输美食品和玩具违反美国联邦食品药品管理局(FDA)或消费品安全委员会(CPSC)法规,海关对进口商作出处罚决定,律师可代理客户与FDA或CPSC交涉,说服海关减轻罚款和处罚。律师可与FDA总署交涉,要求取消对客户输美产品的“自动留置”措施。我们还协助企业应付因违反贸易禁运和制裁措施而导致的货物扣押、罚款和没收,以及海关反洗钱类事务。

国际贸易诉讼和行政程序

我们的律师在美国国际贸易法院及其他法院进行诉讼并在行政程序中代表客户。在快节奏以及充满政治性的海关和国际贸易争端中,政府部门不免会出现纰漏。我们的贸易律师是用行政手段解决这些问题的专家,而当诉讼无可避免的时候,我们具有多年法庭经验的律师对该领域的基本制度有着深入的理解和独特的诉讼技巧。

在美国国际贸易法庭进行诉讼是我们所擅长的业务之一。从海关法方面的争端,到对美国商务部和国际贸易委员会作出的反倾销决定的挑战,我们的律师在为客户到美国国际贸易法庭以及其他法庭就各种贸易问题进行诉讼方面有着丰富可靠的经验。我们的律师具备下列法庭出庭资格:

  • 美国联邦上诉法庭
  • 美国联邦区域法庭
  • 美国破产法庭
  • 美国税务法庭
  • 美国移民法庭
  • 美国联邦索赔法庭
  • 纽约上诉庭
  • 纽约高等法庭 (民事法庭及刑事法庭)
  • 美国国际贸易法庭

关税税率和海关退税

我们为客户谋求最有利的关税税率和海关退税。主要有以下手段:

(一)海关分类和估价:
对海关分类和估价的恰当计划能够带来相当大的关税节省并有助于避免民事和刑事上的处罚。我们的律师帮助客户在每桩交易对进口货物的估价和分类上决定最佳策略。

(二)关税减免项目
我们能为希望免除、降低或延迟关税的公司提供关于北美自由贸易协定及其他关税优惠项目、退税制度、临时进口保税、保税仓库、以及外贸区等方面的法律建议。我们还向航空公司提供关于海关对乘客和货物运作的特殊要求及程序方面的意见。

我们充分了解为客户节省关税开支、维护客户的关税利益对达成我们客户的商业目标具有重要意义。我们帮助客户获取最大化的商业利益。

海关调查与审计

我们在有关海关调查的案件中代表客户、为客户进行内部调查和遵行审计,并设计和执行遵行项目。

我们帮助进口商建立海关遵行审计制度,目的是使这些企业在日常进出口活动中保持良好的守法记录,从而最大限度地避免政府(海关)的干预,例如海关拒绝货物入口、留置或扣押货物以及民事和刑事性质的调查等,减少因这些干预而引起的经济损失。

我们帮助客户满足海关现代化法案所要求的新的遵守义务。我们的律师对进口运作和计划进行诊断性审查,并执行为客户特别定制的进口遵守程序,使得客户能够:

  1. 在进关时向海关提供完整精确的估价、分类和原产地信息;
  2. 操控他们的海关经纪以及其他代理人的进口活动;
  3. 管理他们与美国海关及其他进口监督管理机构的关系;
  4. 识别发现通过关税优惠、退税和其他项目节省关税的机会。

进出口贸易咨询

我们经常为外国客户进入美国市场提供综合法律建议,帮助这些企业优化进出口销售结构,合法减轻关税税负,建立内部机制确保公司遵守各项海关法律法规,最大限度地减低外国公司和商品进入美国的法律风险。

我们为这些客户提供针对出口事宜的法律意见,包括配额问题,关税及非关税贸易壁垒,海关估价与分类,食品与产品安全,及关税优惠政策等。

此外,在如下领域我们也有长足的经验:

来源国标准和标签规定——我们帮助进口商摆脱来源国标准和标签要求的罗网,使得每个进口产品都能被正确标识。

出口管制——美国商务部和国务院对从美国向外国输出的商业和军需的商品、技术、软件和特定服务出口进行管理。这些机构还管理美国原产商品在外国的再出口。我们协助美国出口商在这一方面定位复杂的规章制度。

商标和版权

在现代国际贸易中,知识产权的保护尤为重要。我们在诸多领域为客户提供广泛的知识产权法律服务,从商标到不正当竞争,到版权,到商业秘密等。

在这个信息技术时代,仅仅取得知识产权已经远不足够。要获得成功,企业必须在取得、维护和执行这些权利上都时时警醒。我们在这些方面都能给我们的客户提供帮助。

我们还在必要时帮助客户与版权和商标权持有人谈判签约,使外国出口商的产品进入美国之前取得合法授权,避免因为违反海关知识产权保护的法律而遭到扣押罚没和罚款。

公司设立和上市

我们帮助各国企业在美国设立分公司、开展业务或上市。

我们为各种企业实体提供全方位的公司法律专家服务。我们的客户包括上市公司、跨国公司、投资银行、中小型企业,以及创业企业。我们的律师细心地在法律上引导我们的客户,这些法律问题不仅影响他们融资能力,而且关乎在当下节奏快、竞争强的商业环境中维持企业运营。

我们在国际上的足迹使我们能够为欧洲、亚洲、南北美洲的公司提供全面的公司法律建议和服务。除了在一般公司法方面提供咨询以外,我们还是办理公司收购兼并(特别是含有跨国因素的)、政府接管、首次公开募股及其他公开销售证券、私募基金与风险投资、合资公司等业务的专家。

我们的专家团队恰当地结合技巧、经验和国际性的认知,来帮助客户识别和控制关键的商业和法律风险。我们对各地商业方式、法律以及习惯的微妙差别有着全面的认识。这种完整的处理方法解决了我们的客户常常会遇到的交易管理问题 。

商业票据与签证移民

我们尽最大努力在各个方面协助和便利客户的跨国商业活动和人员调动。

在国际贸易活动中,由于其在降低交易风险和便利资金融通等方面带来的好处,信用证(又常被称为跟单信用证)等商业票据是企业常用的金融工具。我们的律师根据客户需要为客户提供信用证、托收等商业票据方面的服务。

跨国企业或是希望在美国建立分公司的企业不免需要派遣人员到国外或者雇用各国人才。恰当解决签证和移民问题就成为保证企业运作和发展的重要保障。国际律师楼在美国和加拿大签证和移民方面具备丰富的经验。我们为客户制定最优方案,在便利企业人员流动和雇佣的同时,为企业节省时间和成本。

由于我们在这些业务方面的卓越资历以及大量经验,我们擅长于为遍及世界各地的客户制定适合他们独特需求的法律方案,进一步保障客户们商业上的成功。


Copyright © 2009 国际律师楼 International Law Office P.C. All rights reserved.

Communication with Customs and Other Government Agencies

We represent our clients and communicate with US Customs in order to assure its fullest cooperation.

We also deal with customs-related U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC), U.S. International Trade Commission (ITC), Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC), Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR), U.S. Department of Commerce (DOC), U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), Federal Maritime Commission (FMC), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) affairs, etc.
For example, when food and toys imported to the US violate the rules of the FDA or CPSC, and the US Customs imposed penalty, our attorneys can negotiate with the FDA or CPSC. We may convince the US Customs to mitigate penalties and fines. Our attorneys can also talk to the FDA Headquarters to request a cessation of the Automatic Detentions imposed on imported products. We assist companies to negotiate detentions and confiscations arising from sanctions and embargoes. We also deal with customs anti-money laundering matters.

International Trade Litigations and Administrative Proceedings

Our attorneys litigate in the U.S. Court of International Trade and other courts, and represent clients in administrative proceedings.

Given the fast-paced and politically charged nature of customs and international trade disputes, the government inevitably makes mistakes. Our trade lawyers are experts at resolving these issues administratively. When litigation is the only way to protect our clients, our lawyers have an in-depth understanding of the underlying regulatory regimes and issues. Years of experience before the courts in this area qualifies them.

A particular strength of our practice is litigation in the U.S. Court of International Trade. From disputes under the Customs laws to challenges of antidumping determinations issued by the Commerce Department and International Trade Commission, our lawyers have secured victories in courts for our clients on a variety of trade issues. Our lawyers are admitted to practice in the following Courts:

  • United States Court of Appeals
  • United States Federal District Court
  • United States Bankruptcy Court
  • United States Tax Court
  • United States Immigration Court
  • United States Court of Federal Claims
  • New York State Court of Appeals
  • New York Supreme Court (Civil & Criminal Terms)
  • United States Court of International Trade

Duty Rates and Duty Drawback

We secure the most favorable duty rates and duty drawback for our clients, mainly resorting to the following:

  1. Classification and Valuation: Proper Customs classification and valuation planning can result in substantial duty savings and avoidance of civil and criminal penalties. Our attorneys assist clients in determining the optimal method for valuing imported merchandise in specific transactions.
  2. Tariff Reduction and Elimination Programs: Companies seeking to eliminate, reduce, or defer Customs duties rely on our advice on NAFTA and other tariff preference programs, the duty drawback regime, temporary importation bonds, bonded warehouses, and foreign-trade zones. Airlines rely on our knowledge of the unique Customs requirements and procedures that apply to passenger and cargo operations.

We are well aware of the significance of saving duty expenses and looking after the tariff interests of our clients in accomplishing their commercial objectives. We help clients to achieve maximum business benefits.

Customs Investigations and Audits

We represent companies during Customs Service audits, conduct internal investigations and compliance audits, and design and implement compliance programs.

The purpose of helping importers establish compliance programs is to maintain favorable compliance records for the importers. Consequently, this maximizes the avoidance of interventions by the government, e.g. rejection, detention or seizure of imported products, civil or criminal investigation, etc. It also mitigates their economic loss, if any.

We help clients meet new compliance obligations imposed by the Customs Modernization Act. Our Customs lawyers conduct diagnostic reviews of clients’ importing operations and design and implement customized import compliance procedures, which enables companies to:

  1. provide complete and accurate value, classification and origin information to Customs on entry;
  2. manage the activities of their customs brokers and other agents involved in importing;
  3. manage their relationships with US Customs and other regulatory agencies overseeing their imports;
  4. identify opportunities for duty savings by means of tariff preferences, duty drawback and other programs.

Consultation for Import and Export

We provide comprehensive legal advice to foreign clients entering the US market, helping these companies optimize import/export sales structures, legally mitigate duty burdens, establish internal mechanism in compliance with all customs laws, and minimize the legal risks of their products entering the US. We advise them on all matters in connection with their import/export activities, including quota issues, tariff- and non-tariff-based trade barriers, rules of origin, customs classifications and valuations, food and product safety, tariff preference programs, etc.

We also have expert experience in the following field:

Country of Origin Marking – We assist importers in untangling the web of origin rules and marking requirements to ensure that every imported product is properly marked and labeled.

Export Controls – The US Departments of Commerce and State regulate the export of commercial and military commodities, technology, software and certain services from the United States to foreign countries. Additionally, these agencies regulate the re-export of US-origin items from one foreign country to another. We assist exporters in navigating the complex regulatory framework that governs these matters.

Trademark and Copyright

The protection of intellectual property rights plays a particularly important role in modern international trade. Our office offers the full array of intellectual property legal services, including trademarks, unfair competitions, copyrights, and trade secrets, in a variety of fields.

In this information-technology age, it is no longer enough to procure intellectual property rights. To be successful, companies must be vigilant in procuring, maintaining, and enforcing those rights. We assist our clients in those efforts.

We assist clients to negotiate with copyright or trademark holders when necessary, in order to gain legal authorization for products of foreign exporters before they enter the US, avoiding confiscations, detentions, or penalties owing to violations of customs-related intellectual property laws.

Incorporating and Corporation Listing

We assist enterprises from all over the world to establish subsidiaries in the US, operate businesses, and list companies.

We offer a full range of specialist corporate legal services for all types of corporate entities. Our clients are public companies and multi-nationals, investment banks, SMEs and start-ups. Our corporate lawyers carefully guide clients through the legal issues that affect not only their ability to obtain financing, but also to maintain their operations in today's highly competitive, fast pace business environment.

Our international footprint allows us to offer comprehensive corporate legal advice throughout Europe, Asia, South America, and North America. In addition to advising on general company laws, we are transactions experts, specializing in M & A (especially with cross-border situations), public takeovers, IPOs and other public securities offerings, private equity and venture capital and joint ventures.

Our team of specialists possesses the right combination of skills, experience and international understanding to help clients identify and manage key commercial and legal risks. We possess a complete knowledge of the subtle differences between local approaches, laws and customs. This integrated approach solves the transaction management problems that are commonly faced by our clients.

Commercial Paper and Visas & Immigration

We exercise our best efforts to assist and facilitate cross-border commercial activities and transfers of personnel.

In international trade, letters of credit (also known as documentary credit) and other commercial instruments are commonly used. These documents lessen trading risks and facilitate financing. Our lawyers prepare all types of commercial instruments, including letters of credit and documents for collection.

It is common that multinational companies and corporations planning to establish subsidiaries in the US, need to send staffs abroad and to employ professionals of diverse nationalities. Thus, it becomes vital to properly resolve visa and immigration issues in advance, in order to ensure successful operations and developments. International Law Office P.C. possesses extensive experience with US/Canada visas and immigration services. We furnish optimal plans to our clients to facilitate transfers of their employees, saving time and cost for our clients.

Due to our successful long-term experience, we are able to customize legal plans for our clients worldwide, meeting their unique needs and further safeguarding their business success.

Copyright © 2009 International Law Office P.C. All rights reserved.